The importance of surveys.

Surveys are helpful when gathering options about a topic. The more in depth a survey is the more information can be gathered. When a store wants to better understand how customers feel about shopping in their store a more in depth survey about the positive and negative happing’s during the customers shopping would be more useful that a basic store survey. While in school at WVWC I have done several course evaluations on my classes at the school. The course surveys have questions about the course and the instructor and there is even a place to write any other comments or thoughts the student may have. I honestly do not know if except to the induvial professor if these surveys have any impact, but I’ve always attempted to put thought in my responses. I like the fact that my school offers these surveys it gives a chance for the students to possibly shape their school. I’ve never administered a survey in any capacity, but I’m working on a class project in my Business Communications course where we are making and collecting data with a survey. Writing the questions can be tricky one needs to put thought into their questions. While making our survey we’ve had to find what information we are looking to gather and what questions to ask to get information we can use. While writing these questions one major thing that we have had to work hard to avoid is question bias. While we would like to gain support for what we are trying to do at the same time we do not want to gather incorrect data. I enjoy taking surveys personally, because they allow me to give my option on the topic. One thing to remember though is when taking surveys it is important to give your honest and real opinion because you do not know just how much your opinion will impact the research being done.

_Kay Phillips

Leave a comment